CycleSport Victoria Open Events, 2009

CycleSport Victoria is the Victorian governing body of competitive road racing. Affiliated with Cycling Australia, CSV maintains a large rider membership through many city and country cycling clubs. Clubs run state Open events which are sanctioned by CSV conducted through the road racing season (March-November) each year.

Revist the 2008 season here

The following events have changed or been added to the 2009 season.

Event Location Profile
Tour of Southern Grampians Coleraine

Stage 1 - A and B Grades
Stage 1 - W, C and D Grades
Stage 2 - Criterium (no map)
Stage 3 - A Grade
Stage 3 - B and C Grades
Stage 3 - W and D Grades

Alpe d'Buffalo Porepunkah/Mt Buffalo

Stage1 - Time trial
Stage 2 - Road race (U15W)

Stage 2 - Road race (U15M and U17W)
Stage 2 - Road race (U17M)

Baw Baw Classic Warragul Warragul to Baw Baw
Murrindindi Road Classic Marysville 140km Road Race
Leongatha Junior Experiance Outtrim Time Trial
Hill Climb
Road Race
Ararat Junior Tour Moyston

Road Race 1
Time Trial
Road Race 2

Masters Time Trial Series Wangaratta Glenrowan Course
Warby Ranges Course
Shepparton Junior Tour Shepparton and Dookie

Kialla Loop
Dookie Road Race (35km)
Dookie Road Race (60km)

Ballarat Masters Burrumbeet The Avenue
Mt Misery
Victorian 100km Championships Pt Fairy 2.5 km Pt Fairy Circuit
Eildon Junior Tour and Handcycle Series Thornton and Eildon

Stage 1 (Time trial)
Stage 2 (J11/13/15W/HC)
Stage 2 (J15M/17W)
Stage 2 (J17M)
Stage 3 (J11/13)
Stage 3 (J15/17/HC)

Victorian Junior Championships at Wangaratta




Time Trial
Road Race U11/13
Road Race U15/17
Leongatha Masters Leongatha 16km Wild Dog Valley Rd Circuit, Leongatha North
Stratford to Dargo Stratford 104km road race
Scottys Race Shepparton A and B grade 128km
C and D grade 72km





Location Event / Profile Description


Rob Vernon Memorial

Conducted by the Bendigo Cycling Club, a 110km circuit from Strathfieldsaye to Emu Creek


Tour of Bright
Stage 1 - A grade
Stage 1 - B grade
Stage 1 - Women
Stage 2 (TT)
Stage 3

Conducted by the Alpine Cycling Club.

Preston Mountain Classic 2007 (125km)
Preston Mountain Classic (84km)

Preston Mountain Classic 2008 (117km)
Preston Mountain Classic 2008 (77km)

Conducted by the Preston Cycling Club, held up at Broadford takes the riders up through Glenaroua, then around to Tallarook, Yea, Flowerdale and Strath Creek. Features climbs at Break O'Day and Strath Creek
Casterton Casterton 'Wal Smith' 50 An out and back circuit, north to Dunrobin, south to Digby

Tour of Southern Grampians
Stage 1 - A abd B Grades
Stage 1 - WCD Grades
Stage 2 - Criterium (no map)
Stage 3 - A Grade
Stage 3 - B and C Grades
Stage 3 - W and D Grades

This is an annual multi-stage event conducted at the Southern Grampians town of Coleraine, run by Coburg Cycling Club.
A change to the format for 2009, with 2 road stages split by the criterium.


Creswick Loop

Conducted by the Creswick Road Race Organising Group, this is a 133km handicap, comprising 3 laps of the 43 km loop


Eildon Junior Tour
Time Trial
Road Races 1-3
Road Race 4
Road Race 5
Road Handicaps 1-3

A multi-stage tour for ages U11-U17 conducted by the Blackburn Cycling Club around Eildon, Thornton and Alexandra.
Grampians Mt William Road Classic Conducted by the Ararat Cycling Club
Hamilton Hamilton 'Cecil Shore' 120 An out and back circuit, north to Cavendish, south to Macarthur
Kew, Melbourne Yarra Boulevard The classic time trial course overlooking Melbourne City.
Lang Lang Lang Lang - single lap of 74km
Lang Lang 60 - the shorter 60km lap
Conducted by Blackburn Cycling Club
Meredith Midlands Tour Conducted by the Footscray Cycling Club.

Miners Rest

Victorian Club Teams Time Trial Championships
Miners Rest Loop

Conducted by Ballarat Sebastopol, the circuit is a 27km rectangular loop. Teams from all victorian clubs vie for the State Time Trial Championships. All age categories are catered for.


Bay 2 Bay Classic

Conducted by the Mornington Cycling Club


Country and Metro Road Championships
Newstead Loop

Run by Castlemaine CC at Newstead.

Rockbank, Melbourne

Melbourne to Ballarat

A 93km handicap event conducted by CSV

Sanctuary Lakes, Melbourne Melbourne to Warrnambool Caribou Publications
Shepparton Scott Peoples Memorial Race Conducted by the Shepparton Cycling Club
Shepparton Shepparton Road Classic Conducted by the Shepparton Cycling Club.

Victorian Junior Road Championships
Time Trial
Road Race

Conducted by the Wangaratta Cycling Club
Wangaratta High Country Road Race Conducted by the Wangaratta Cycling Club and the Mansfield-Mt Buller Cycling Club
Warragul Warragul to Baw Baw Conducted by Warragul Cycling Club
Yarra Glen

Great Doherty Tour


Conducted by Blackburn Cycling Club

© 2014 Cycling Profiles | Web Concept by Visualism